An Employment Lawyer
Representing Employees

5 Points To Know About Michigan Wage And Hour Laws

On Behalf of | Oct 19, 2022 | Employee Rights

Employees in Michigan have very specific rights when it comes to their wages. Employers must ensure they’re complying with all of these.

Some employees may not know exactly what rights they have. Remembering these five points may help to ensure your rights are being respected.

#1: Minimum wage and overtime

The minimum wage in Michigan is $9.87 per hour for people who work up to 40 hours per week. Anyone who works more than 40 hours per week is entitled to 1.5 times their normal hourly wage. All employers in the state must follow the overtime law, regardless of how many employees they have. Employers can require employees to work overtime, and they can discipline workers who refuse to work overtime.

#2: Paid and unpaid breaks

Breaks aren’t required for adults in Michigan. However, an employer must pay you for a break if you’re required to perform any work-related duties during the time you’re on break.

#3: On-call shifts

If you’re working on-call shifts, whether you’re paid or not depends on your ability to do what you want to do. If you have to remain at the employer’s location and can’t do what you want to do, you should be paid. If you just have to carry a phone or pager but can do what you want until you have a call, you don’t have to be paid for on-call time.

#4: Payroll deductions

Payroll deductions can only occur in specific situations, such as if you borrowed money from the employer and they have written permission from you to collect through a payroll deduction. Blanket deduction authorizations aren’t valid.

#5: Quitting and termination

If you quit or are terminated, your employer must pay you the final wages you’re due by the next scheduled payday unless you hand-pick crops. People who hand-pick crops are due their pay within one working day of termination. If you turn in your notice to quit, the employer doesn’t have any duty to put you on the schedule beyond the date of notice. Some employees have severance agreements or employment contracts that will come into the picture if they’re terminated.

Employers must comply with all applicable state and federal laws. Employees can take legal action when they don’t. Understanding your rights and the applicable laws can help you determine when you should take action.